Requirements for admission to study at the University of Arts and Design Karlsruhe are:

  • an appropriate school education
  • proof of artistic or theoretical aptitude

School Education

The prerequisites of school education for course admission are:

  • General higher education qualification or
  • Subject-specific higher education qualification or
  • Comparable previous school education (to a general or subject-specific higher educational level)

Information on which other previous school education is recognized as comparable, can be found in § 58 Paragraph 2 of the State Law on Education Baden-Württemberg (LHG BW) - the student office/examination office can offer information on individual cases.

It is not possible to study at the university with a technical college qualification.

Course applicants with a previous education which only allows eligibility for particular courses (subject-specific qualifications), can only be admitted to these courses.

For the course subject Art Research and Media Philosophy, either a qualification in Latin or knowledge of two foreign languages are required. English knowledge is desirable in all subjects.


Artistic or Theoretical Aptitude

Admission to course studies requires an aptitude examination in all subjects. Artistic aptitude (for artistic courses: Exhibition Design and Scenography, Communication Design, Media Art, and Product Design) or theoretical aptitude (Art Research and Media Philosophy) is examined.

The aptitude examination for artistic courses consists of:

  • a pre-selection based on statements of purpose as well as the submitted portfolios with work studies,
  • an oral examination.

The aptitude examination for Art Research and Media Philosophy consists of:

  • a pre-selection based on statements of purpose
  • an oral examination.

Statement of Purpose (All Subjects)

A text of one or two sides as accompanying text explaining application motives, on the question of chosen course study, own work and general artistic concerns, is required in addition to the application documents.


Portfolio (Art and Design Courses)

For art and design courses, a portfolio with ten to twenty self-produced work studies is required. In addition, videos, DVDs as well as diapositives (35 mm) may be submitted. For Media Art, one or more videotapes and films (in digital form) may be presented; furthermore, applicants for Media Art are asked to attach an additional video of no more than two minutes, on themselves and their interests.

There are no specifications on the side of the university. The applicants should put their work together using their own judgement, so that they can see themselves and their artistic confrontation best represented.


Oral Examination (All Subjects)

The oral examination cover in particular the personal motivation and the submitted work samples and are conducted continuously during the application phase. The dates will be announced at least ten days in advance (outgoing mail).

Voraussetzungen für die Zulassung zum Studium an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe sind:

  • eine entsprechende schulische Vorbildung
  • der Nachweis einer künstlerischen oder wissenschaftlichen Eignung

Schulische Vorbildung

Die schulischen Voraussetzungen für die Zulassung zum Studium sind:

  • Allgemeine Hochschulreife oder
  • fachgebundene Hochschulreife oder
  • gleichwertige Vorbildung (zur allgemeinen oder fachgebundenen Hochschulreife)

Welche andere schulische Vorbildung ggf. als gleichwertig anerkannt werden kann, ergibt sich aus § 58 Absatz 2 Landeshochschulgesetz Baden-Württemberg (LHG BW) – das Studierendensekretariat/Prüfungsamt erteilt dazu im Einzelfall gerne weitere Auskünfte.

Mit dem Abschluss einer Fachhochschulreife ist ein Studium an unserer Hochschule nicht möglich.

StudienbewerberInnen mit einer Vorbildung, die nur zu einem bestimmten Studiengang berechtigt (fachgebundene Hochschulreife), können nur für diesen Studiengang zugelassen werden.

Für das Fach Kunstwissenschaft und Medienphilosophie werden entweder das Latinum oder die Kenntnis zweier Fremdsprachen gefordert. Englischkenntnisse sind für alle Fächer wünschenswert.


Künstlerische oder wissenschaftliche Eignung

Es werden jeweils die künstlerische Eignung (künstlerische Studiengänge: Ausstellungsdesign und Szenografie, Kommunikationsdesign, Medienkunst und Produktdesign) oder wissenschaftliche Eignung (Kunstwissenschaft und Medienphilosophie) festgestellt.

Das Bewerbungsverfahren für die künstlerischen Studiengänge gliedert sich in:

  • eine Vorauswahl anhand des Motivationsschreibens sowie der eingereichten Mappe mit Werkproben,
  • ein Auswahlgespräch

Das Bewerbungsverfahren für Kunstwissenschaft und Medienphilosophie gliedert sich in:

  • eine Vorauswahl anhand des Motivationsschreibens
  • ein Auswahlgespräch

Motivationsschreiben (alle Fächer)

Zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen gehört eine ein- bis zweiseitige Bewerbungsbegründung als Begleittext zur Frage des gewählten Studienganges, der eigenen Arbeit und allgemeinen künstlerischen Fragestellungen.


Mappe (künstlerische Studiengänge)

Für künstlerische Studiengänge ist die Vorlage einer Mappe mit 10 bis 20 selbstgefertigten Werkproben erforderlich. Des Weiteren können Videos, DVDs sowie Dias (35 mm) eingereicht werden. Für den Studiengang Medienkunst können auch ein oder mehrere Videobänder und Filme (in digitaler Form) vorgelegt werden; außerdem werden Bewerberinnen und Bewerber für Medienkunst gebeten, ein Video über sich selbst mit einer maximalen Länge von zwei Minuten zusätzlich beizufügen.

Vorgaben seitens der Hochschule gibt es nicht. Die Bewerberinnen und Bewerber sollten ihre Arbeiten nach eigenem Ermessen so zusammenstellen, dass sie sich selbst und ihre künstlerische Auseinandersetzung am besten repräsentiert sehen.


Auswahlgespräche

Die Auswahlgespräche erstrecken sich insbesondere auf die persönliche Motivation und die eingereichten Werkproben und werden während der Bewerbungsphase kontinuierlich durchgeführt. Die Termine werden mindestens zehn Tage vorher (Postausgang) mitgeteilt.