Short profile

The Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design (HfG) Karlsruhe offers a unique space for dedicated learning, research and experimental development. In order to learn how to deal with a complex and diverse reality, study at the HfG Karlsruhe is consistently organized across disciplines: anyone who studies theory gains at the same time skills in creative and artistic practice. Conversely, anyone who studies art or design enters into theoretical considerations. This combination of the degree programs Communication Design, Product Design, Media Art, Exhibition Design and Scenography, Art Science and Media Philosophy succeeds because it takes place in the greatest possible freedom: Our students have the opportunity to develop according to their own interests and strengths, to determine their individual focus and at the end to develop a personal profile. As new technologies evolve over the next few decades, independent minds are more in demand than ever. Against this background, we have also decided to keep the Diploma and the Master's degree. A huge variety of international partnerships with renowned universities enable students to put what they have learned into an international context. At HfG there are about 20 students per professor. In small groups and through project-oriented work, each individual receives optimal support. Additionally an excellent technical equipment and diverse workshops offer the best possible training. Study, teaching and research at the HfG are in close cooperation with one of the best and most innovative exhibition machines in the world - the ZKM | Center for Art and Media. The HfG Karlsruhe ties directly to the ideas and concepts of the Bauhaus tradition - a tradition in which the design of the future is seen as a central social task. Prerequisites for admission to the program are the general or subject-related higher education entrance qualification as well as the successful completion of an entrance examination. The beginning of studies takes place in the winter semester.

aspect-ratio 10x9 Eingang HfG Karlsruhe

Eingang HfG Karlsruhe (© HfG Karlsruhe)


General Course Guidance

The Student Department Office of the HfG Karlsruhe advises on general questions of study, such as: application and admission procedure or enrollment.

Contact:
Student Department Office Kerstin Eisenmenger
T +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2369
F +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2373

Office hours:
Monday to Thursday, 9-12am (afternoon after arrangement)

A study / portfolio consultation is carried out by representatives of the respective field of study.

aspect-ratio 10x9

Photo: Harals Völkl (© Baden-Württemberg International)


Study / Portfolio Consulting

For prospective students, study counseling with a focus on the portfolio takes place in the winter semester. Interested students are requested to bring folders or work samples to the appointment.

Communication Design

November 21, 2pm (Prof. Sereina Rothenberger)
December 5, 2 pm (Prof Ivan Weiss)
January 16, 2:00pm (Prof. Rebecca Stephany)
January 30, 2pm (Prof. Michael Kryenbühl)
February 12, 3pm (Prof. James Langdon)

Venue: in front of room 216 on the corridor, HfG Karlsruhe

Art Science and Media Philosophy
Dates will be announced.

Product Design
Dates will be announced.

Exhibition Design and Scenography

January 17, 2-4pm (Prof. Andreas Müller), Venue: Room 317, HfG Karlsruhe
January 22, 10:30am-12:30pm (Thomas Rustemeyer), Venue: Room 316, HfG Karlsruhe

Media Art
Dates will be announced.

Art Science and Media Philosophy
Ellen Mai
T +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2275

Media Art / Exhibition Design and Scenography
Elvira Heise
T +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2338

Communication Design / Product Design
Susanne Sokoll
T +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2245

aspect-ratio 10x9

Photo: Evi Künstle (© HfG Karlsruhe)


Study Orientation Day

Every year in November the Study Orientation Day takes place at the HfG Karlsruhe. Interested students can inform themselves on site about the special courses offered by the HfG Karlsruhe, visit guided tours of the studios and workshops in the building and ask students questions about university life. In addition, guided tours of the neighboring ZKM | Center for Art and Media are offered. Registration is not required. The next Study Orientation Day will take place on November 21, 2018 from 10am to 6pm. Venues and the detailed program will be announced on the website under News.

aspect-ratio 10x9

© HfG Karlsruhe


HfG Taster Course

Our HfG Taster Course (Schnupperstudium) offers students between the ages of 16 and 20 insights into the various study programs at the university; the participants can experience the open atmosphere at the HfG Karlsruhe, visit workshops and studios, be inspired by the study program, be creative in workshops and ask questions about the studies, the admission requirements and the application. The event concludes with a public presentation of the workshop results.

The next HfG Taster Course will take place in the summer of 2019. Contact:
Melanie Schillo

aspect-ratio 10x9 HfG Schnupperstudium 2018

HfG Schnupperstudium 2018 (© HfG Karlsruhe)


Fairs

The Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe has its own booth at selected educational fairs. Prospective students can find out more about the special courses offered by the HfG Karlsruhe, ask questions about the application procedure and, of course, learn a lot about the HfG Karlsruhe and its university location.

Fairs 2018:
5.–6. Oktober 2018 at the Einstieg in Karlsruhe:
einstieg.com

  1. Dezember 2018 at the Traumberuf Medien in München: www.muenchen.traumberuf-medien.de

Fairs 2019:
27.–28. September at the Einstieg in Karlsruhe
einstieg.com

aspect-ratio 10x9 HfG Stand bei der Messe Einstieg in Karlsruhe

HfG Stand bei der Messe Einstieg in Karlsruhe (© HfG Karlsruhe)


Bewerben

All further information about the application process can be found here:
Bewerbungsverfahren

Kurzprofil

Das Studium an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung (HfG) Karlsruhe bietet einen einzigartigen Freiraum für engagiertes Lernen, Forschen und experimentelles Entwickeln. Um mit einer komplexen und diversen Wirklichkeit umgehen zu lernen, wird das Studium an der HfG Karlsruhe konsequent fachübergreifend organisiert: Wer Theorie studiert, gewinnt zugleich Fertigkeiten in der gestalterischen und künstlerischen Praxis. Umgekehrt taucht, wer Kunst- oder Designpraxis studiert, in theoretische Überlegungen ein. Diese Verzahnung der Studiengänge Kommunikationsdesign, Produktdesign, Medienkunst, Ausstellungsdesign und Szenografie, Kunstwissenschaft und Medienphilosophie gelingt, weil sie in größtmöglichem Freiraum stattfindet: Unsere Studierenden erhalten die Möglichkeit, sich nach eigenen Interessen und Stärken zu entwickeln, ihre individuellen Schwerpunkte zu bestimmen und somit ein ganz persönliches Profil zu erarbeiten. Angesichts der Veränderungen durch neue Technologien, die sich für die nächsten Jahrzehnte abzeichnen, sind eigenständige Köpfe gefragter denn je. Vor diesem Hintergrund haben wir uns auch dazu entschlossen, das Diplom und den Magister als Studienabschluss beizubehalten. Eine Vielzahl von internationalen Partnerschaften mit renommierten Hochschulen ermöglicht den Studierenden das gelernte in einen internationalen Kontext zu stellen. An der HfG kommt auf etwa 20 Studierende ein/e ProfessorIn. In kleinen Gruppen und durch projektorientiertes Arbeiten wird jede/r Einzelne optimal gefördert.

Studium, Lehre und Forschung an der HfG stehen zudem im engen Austausch mit einer der besten und weltweit innovativsten Ausstellungsmaschinen – dem ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien. Die HfG Karlsruhe knüpft unmittelbar an die Ideen und Konzepte der Bauhaus-Tradition an – eine Tradition, in der die Gestaltung von Zukunft als zentrale gesellschaftliche Aufgabe gilt.

Voraussetzungen für die Zulassung zum Studium sind die allgemeine oder fachgebundene Hochschulreife sowie die erfolgreiche Ablegung einer Aufnahmeprüfung. Der Studienbeginn erfolgt jeweils zum Wintersemester.

aspect-ratio 10x9 Eingang HfG Karlsruhe

Eingang HfG Karlsruhe (© HfG Karlsruhe)


Allgemeine Studienberatung

Das Studierendensekretariat der HfG Karlsruhe berät über allgemeine Fragen des Studiums, wie z. B. Bewerbungs- und Aufnahmeverfahren oder die Einschreibung.

Kontakt:
Studierendensekretariat
Kerstin Eisenmenger
T +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2369
F +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2373

Sprechzeiten:
Montag bis Donnerstag, 9–12 Uhr
(nachmittags nach Absprache)

Eine Studien-/Mappenberatung erfolgt durch Fachvertreterinnen und Fachvertreter der jeweiligen Studienrichtung.

aspect-ratio 10x9

Foto: Harals Völkl (© Baden-Württemberg International)


Studien- /Mappenberatung

Für Studieninteressierte finden Studienberatungen mit dem Schwerpunkt Bewerbungsmappe jeweils im Wintersemester statt. Interessierte werden gebeten Mappen bzw. Arbeitsproben zu dem Termin mitzubringen.

Kommunikationsdesign

  • 21. November, 14 Uhr (Prof. Sereina Rothenberger, im Rahmen des Hochschulinformationstags)
  • 5. Dezember, 14 Uhr (Prof Ivan Weiss)
  • 14. Januar, 14:30 Uhr (Prof. Rebecca Stephany)
  • 30. Januar, 14 Uhr (Prof. Michael Kryenbühl)
  • 12. Februar, 15 Uhr (Prof. James Langdon)
    Ort: vor Raum 216 auf dem Flur, HfG Karlsruhe

Kunstwissenschaft und Medienphilosophie
Termine werden noch bekannt gegeben.

Produktdesign
Termine werden noch bekannt gegeben.

Ausstellungsdesign und Szenografie
Termine werden noch bekannt gegeben.

Medienkunst
Termine werden noch bekannt gegeben.

Sekretariat Kunstwissenschaft und Medienphilosophie
Ellen Mai
T +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2275

Sekretariat Medienkunst / Ausstellungsdesign und Szenografie
Elvira Heise
T +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2338

Sekretariat Kommunikationsdesign / Produktdesign
Susanne Sokoll
T +49 (0) 721 / 8203 2245

aspect-ratio 10x9

Foto: Evi Künstle (© HfG Karlsruhe)


Studieninformationstag

Jedes Jahr findet im November der Studieninformationstag an der HfG Karlsruhe statt. Interessierte Schülerinnen und Schüler können sich vor Ort über das besondere Studienangebot der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung informieren, bei Führungen die Studios und Werkstätten im Gebäude besichtigen und Studierenden Fragen über das Hochschulleben stellen. Außerdem werden Führungen durch das benachbarte ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien angeboten.

Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Der nächste Studieninformationstag findet am 21. November 2018 von 10.00 Uhr bis 18 Uhr statt. Treffpunkte und Vortragsorte sowie das detaillierte Programm werden rechtzeitig auf der Website unter Aktuelles bekanntgegeben.

aspect-ratio 10x9

© HfG Karlsruhe


HfG Schnupperstudium

Unser HfG-Schnupperstudium bietet Schülerinnen und Schülern zwischen 16 und 20 Jahren Einblicke in die verschiedenen Studiengänge der Hochschule; die Teilnehmer*innen können die offene Atmosphäre an der HfG Karlsruhe erleben, Werkstätten und Studios besichtigen, sich vom Studienangebot inspirieren lassen, in Workshops selbst kreativ werden und Fragen rund um das Studium, die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen und die Bewerbung stellen. Den Abschluss der Veranstaltung bildet eine öffentliche Präsentation der Workshopergebnisse bei der KAMUNA.

Das nächste HfG Schnupperstudium findet im Sommer 2019 vom 31.07.19 - 03.08.19 statt.

Kontakt:
Melanie Schillo

aspect-ratio 10x9 HfG Schnupperstudium 2018

HfG Schnupperstudium 2018 (© HfG Karlsruhe)


Messen

Die Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe ist mit einem eigenen Stand auf ausgewählten Bildungsmessen vertreten. Studieninteressierte Besucherinnen und Besucher können sich hier zum besonderen Studienangebot der HfG Karlsruhe informieren, Fragen zum Bewerbungsverfahren stellen und natürlich viel Interessantes über die HfG Karlsruhe und den Hochschulstandort erfahren.

Messebeteiligungen 2018:
5.–6. Oktober 2018 bei der Einstieg in Karlsruhe:
einstieg.com

  1. Dezember 2018 bei der Traumberuf Medien in München: www.muenchen.traumberuf-medien.de

Messebeteiligungen 2019:
27.–28. September bei der Einstieg in Karlsruhe
einstieg.com

aspect-ratio 10x9 HfG Stand bei der Messe Einstieg in Karlsruhe

HfG Stand bei der Messe Einstieg in Karlsruhe (© HfG Karlsruhe)


Bewerben

Alle weiteren Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren finden Sie hier:
Bewerbungsverfahren