With its fan-shaped foundation, young yet historic, and a diverse cultural life. Karlsruhe is more than just a city of justice and information technology. In the sunniest city in Germany, a cultural scene with countless street festivals and (open-air) concerts have been established. 900 hectors of park and green spaces characterize the image of the city, as much as the top-class architecture of the last three centuries. Its diverse and vibrant gastronomy and club-scene is not least due to the over 40,000 students from nine universities. The good weather and plentiful green will also please the sportsperson: Countless clubs as well as university sports at Karlsruhe Institute for Technology (KIT) offers students as well as employees a comprehensive range of sport. Additionally, opportunities for further study such as the KIT’s language center or the range of cooperations between the universities, further enrich study and work.

There is much emphasis on culture and art in Karlsruhe. Asides from the renowned and neighboring ZKM, many museums such as the Staatliche Kunsthalle, the Badische Landesmuseum or the Städtische Galerie await visitors. Diverse art galleries and a young creative scene around the old slaughterhouse make for a good touch point after studies.


Living in the “Fan-Shaped” City

Karlsruhe is an attractive living area, where the bus, train and tram systems make living in the vicinity possible. Students who register their primary residence will receive a welcome pack from the city of Karlsruhe.

Housing facilities for students:
Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Studentenwohnheim e. V.
Augustin-Bea-Haus und Reinhold-Schneider-Haus
Hans-Wolfgang-Heidland-Haus
Dr.-Hugo-Rhein-Stiftung
Hermann-Ehlers-Kolleg
Evangelische Studentinnenwohnheim
Wohnheim beim Westcampus

The Paritätischen Sozialdienste has been connecting living spaces with students since summer semester 2008 in cooperation with Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe. Instead of paying rent, tenants are asked to help make every day life easier for the owner. Care services of any form are excluded.


Student Project Rooms
  • Manhattan Bar

The Manhattan Bar is a project space and is supervised by a team of students from the HfG Karlsruhe. Everyone interested is invited to come by and suggest concepts for events or other uses of the project space.

Regularly open: Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11am to 5pm
Events after announcement

Amalienstraße 53, 76133 Karlsruhe

manhattanbar-ka.de
Manhattan Bar on Facebook
Manhattan Bar on Instagram

Contact:

  • ßpace [spɛɪ̯s]

The ßpace is the project space of the independent initiative "Die Anstoß e.V" to promote the free cultural scene in the fields of art and design, architecture and urbanism, music and theater as well as other socially relevant topics. The initiative was initiated by students and alumni of the HfG Karlsruhe and others.
Since the end of 2015, the weekly club meetings and many projects such as exhibitions, readings, symposia and a monthly hang-out with changing DJs have taken place here.

Fritz-Erler-Straße 7, 76133 Karlsruhe

dieanstoss.de
"Die Anstoß e.V". auf Facebook

Contact:

Fächerförmiger Grundriss, jung und doch historisch, ein abwechslungsreiches Kulturleben: Karlsruhe ist mehr als nur die Stadt des Rechts und der Informationstechnik. In der sonnigsten Stadt Deutschlands hat sich eine Kulturszene mit zahlreichen Straßenfesten und (Open-Air-)Konzerten etabliert. 900 Hektar Park- und Grünflächen prägen das Stadtbild genauso wie hochkarätige Baukunst aus den letzten drei Jahrhunderten. Die Gastronomie- und Clubszene ist nicht zuletzt wegen der über 40.000 Studierenden aus neun Hochschulen lebendig und vielfältig. Das gute Wetter und viel Grün freut auch das Sportlerherz: Zahlreiche Vereine sowie der Hochschulsport des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) bietet sowohl Studierenden als auch Beschäftigten ein umfassendes Sportangebot. Aber auch Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten, das Sprachenzentrum des KITs und Kooperationsangebote zwischen den Hochschulen bereichern Studium und Arbeit an der Hochschule.

Kultur und Kunst wird in Karlsruhe groß geschrieben: Neben dem international renommierten und benachbarten ZKM warten verschiedene Museen, wie die Staatliche Kunsthalle, das Badische Landesmuseum oder die Städtische Galerie auf Besucherinnen und Besucher. Diverse Kunstgalerien und eine junge Kreativszene rund um den Alten Schlachthof sind erste Anknüpfungspunkte für die Zeit nach dem Studium.


Wohnen in der Fächerstadt

Karlsruhe ist eine attraktive Wohngegend, in der durch Bus, Bahn und Tram das Wohnen in der näheren Umgebung ermöglicht wird. Studierende, die ihren Erstwohnsitz anmelden, erhalten von der Stadt Karlsruhe ein Begrüßungspaket.

Wohneinrichtungen für Studierende:
Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Studentenwohnheim e. V.
Augustin-Bea-Haus und Reinhold-Schneider-Haus
Hans-Wolfgang-Heidland-Haus
Dr.-Hugo-Rhein-Stiftung
Hermann-Ehlers-Kolleg
Evangelische Studentinnenwohnheim
Wohnheim beim Westcampus

Wohnpartnerbörse: Die Paritätischen Sozialdienste vermitteln seit dem Sommersemester 2008 in Kooperation mit dem Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe Wohnraum an Studierende, die anstelle einer Mietzahlung ihren Wohnraum-Anbietern den Alltag erleichtern. Pflegeleistungen jeglicher Art sind ausgeschlossen.


Studentische Räume
  • Manhattan Bar

Die Manhattan Bar ist ein Projektraum und wird betreut von einem Team aus Studierenden der HfG Karlsruhe. Alle Interessierte sind eingeladen vorbeizukommen und Konzepte für Veranstaltungen oder andere Raumnutzungen vorzuschlagen.

Regelmäßig geöffnet: Dienstag und Donnerstag von 11-17 Uhr
Veranstaltungen nach Ankündigung

Amalienstraße 53, 76133 Karlsruhe

manhattanbar-ka.de Manhattan Bar auf Facebook
Manhattan Bar auf Instagram

Kontakt:

  • ßpace [spɛɪ̯s]

Der ßpace ist der Projek­traum der unabhängigen Initiative „Die Anstoß e.V.“ zur Förderung der freien Kulturszene in den Bereichen Kunst und Design, Architektur und Urbanismus, Musik und Theater sowie weiteren gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen. Die Initiative wurde u.a. von Studierenden und Alumni der HfG Karlsruhe ins Leben gerufen.
Hier finden seit Ende 2015 die wöchentlichen Vereinssitzungen sowie viele Projekte wie Ausstel­lun­gen, Lesungen, Symposien und ein allmo­nat­li­ches Hang-Out mit wechseln­den DJs statt.

Fritz-Erler-Straße 7, 76133 Karlsruhe

dieanstoss.de
"Die Anstoß e.V". auf Facebook

Kontakt: